III. Academic Governance

A. The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is charged with final responsibility for the operations of IIT. The Board assesses the performance of the university and its president to assure that IIT serves the public interest in its chosen range of activities. The Board assures the prudent management of IIT's finances, leads in providing the resources needed to carry out the university's objectives, protects the university from undue external pressures, and functions as a bridge between IIT and the outside community. The Board is composed of prominent business, industrial, community, and professional leaders who place their time, talents, and resources at the disposal of the university. The names of the members of the Board of Trustees are listed in major university publications.

B. Academic Administration

Responsibility for carrying out resolutions of the Board of Trustees and for implementation of its policies is placed upon the President and those to whom the President may delegate responsibility. The Provost administers the academic-related support services through the academic unit heads and other administrative officers. Objectives of the academic administration include creating and supporting an outstanding community of faculty and students, providing a working environment that facilitates scholarly achievement, and planning the long-range development necessary for IIT's continuing progress.

C. Academic Units

An academic unit is a degree-granting group of faculty having among its members one or more tenured faculty whose primary appointment is in that unit. The current academic units are Chicago-Kent College of Law; the Stuart School of Business; the College of Architecture; the Graduate School of Design; the School of Applied Technology; and the Departments of Applied Mathematics, Biological and Chemical Sciences, Physics, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Biological Engineering, Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Humanities, Mathematics & Science Education, Mechanical Materials & Aerospace Engineering, Psychology and Social Sciences.

D. The Faculty

The IIT faculty consists of all individuals who hold regular full-time faculty appointments at the university, including the President and the Provost. Those who hold adjunct professorial rank and teach at least three 50-minute periods per week per semester, or the equivalent, also are considered members of the faculty. Senior research associates and research associates hold academic appointments but are not members of the faculty. The undergraduate and graduate bulletins, and the university's web site, list the members of IIT's faculty. Specific voting privileges of various categories of faculty are discussed in Appendices A, B, and Q of this Handbook.

Active emeriti faculty members, tenured and tenure-track faculty members, and teaching faculty members at the full and associate rank hold voting rights as members of the faculty and are classified as "regular voting members". Active emeriti faculty members are those emeriti faculty members who continue to participate in university affairs. On or before September 30 of each year, each academic unit will provide to the Office of the Provost a list of those emeriti faculty members who meet this definition and should be considered as active emeriti faculty members for that academic year. In order

to provide suitable representation at faculty meetings to colleges, schools, departments, centers and institutes, the voting faculty may extend membership and voting rights to other persons as provided in the constitution and by-laws of the IIT faculty. (Appendices A and B.)

Meetings of the university faculty are held at least twice each year, at which time the University Faculty Council (sometimes referred to herein as the "UFC") reports its deliberations, decisions, and actions. At its meetings the Faculty may act on matters of particular significance brought before it by the University Faculty Council, the President or the Provost. The President serves as president of the Faculty. The Secretary of the University Faculty Council serves as Secretary of the Faculty. Members of the Faculty are organized into academic units, as described in the preceding section.

E. Constitution and By-Laws of the Faculty of Illinois Institute of Technology

The IIT Faculty Constitution and By-Laws (see Appendices A and B, respectively, for the full text of each document) describe the composition, structure, and functions of the University Faculty Council and the Faculty Senate. These documents set forth the procedures for selection of officers of the Faculty, election of UFC members, and conduct of Faculty meetings. The composition and functions of faculty standing committees are also discussed. These documents are subject to the review and approval of the Board of Trustees.