View this email as a webpage

July 23, 2018

Dear Illinois Tech Students:

After careful consideration and a close examination of data and trends, I am writing to notify you that Friday, August 10, 2018, will be the last day that the university will fund the shuttles between Downtown Campus, Moffett Campus, Rice Campus, and Mies Campus.

Though we know some in our community may disagree with this decision, the unfortunate reality is that ridership levels and associated costs are not sustainable. For instance, currently the shuttle cost is approximately $460 per month for each individual rider, which amounts to a total cost of $550,000 per year.

Several other public transit options can accommodate individuals traveling from downtown to Mies Campus. For those traveling from Union Station and Downtown Campus, Mies Campus is accessible via the Green Line “L” from the Adams and Wabash Station or via the Red Line “L” from the Jackson Station. Further, the #1 Bronzeville/Union Station CTA bus route provides direct access to Mies Campus from Union Station. Union Station riders may also consider walking to the Metra LaSalle Street Station and taking the Rock Island Metra. This would be a free option for anyone with a monthly Metra train pass.

For those traveling from Ogilvie Transportation Center, Mies Campus is accessible via the Green Line “L” station at Clinton and Lake. Visit the Chicago Transit Authority website ( for more details about “L” and bus travel.

Students who wish to drive to Mies Campus as a result of this change should visit the Parking Services page to review options. Permits can be purchased online via MyParking.

In closing, I want to emphasize that we do not take this step lightly. It comes only after determining that this change and future reforms will allow the university to better invest in our mission of providing a world-class education and promoting cutting-edge research. We regret the inconvenience this decision may cause you. Thank you for your support and understanding.


Michael Horan, Vice President for Finance and Administration
Illinois Institute of Technology